top of page

The Nightingale Luminary Award was established in 1985 to acknowledge the outstanding nurses in our region, whose hard work and dedication improves other's health. This award was named after Florence Nightingale in honor of her many years of service as a leader, innovator, and advocator of the Nursing profession. She was known as a pioneer of her time, and her practices still influence the field of nursing. Today, new pioneers work hard to revolutionize nursing and make an impact in our communities. 



Natalie Pool.png


Exceptional Achievements in Nursing

Nursing Education Academia

Screenshot 2024-04-18 121456.png

Congratulations to the 2024 NE Regional Luminary Nominees

Natalie Pool

Lola Fehr

Edmon Regachuelo

Darnell Osburn

Vanessa Matteson

Nicole Olson

Telena Rogers

Aecian Pendleton

Brandon Schneider

Jasmine Shea

The Colorado Nurses Foundation is committed to making a collective impact on a diverse, inclusive, and equitable care environment for all Colorado nurses and the Coloradans they serve. We embrace the uniqueness of all nurses and the kaleidoscope of humans of every race, color, religion, national origin, gender identity or expression, sexual orientation, disability, age, veteran status, or

immigration path who call Colorado home.

Our commitment to these values is central to our mission and guides the development and implementation of our programs and initiatives that foster nursing excellence and promotes the leadership role of nurses to create a sustainable health care system for Colorado.  One of these programs is the Nightingale Awards for Nursing Excellence. 


Acute Care Clinical Practice

  • RN

  • LPN

Clinical Advanced Practice

  • RN

Long Term Care/Rehabilitation

  • RN

  • LPN

Community Nursing

  • RN

  • LPN

Nurse Led Teams

Nursing Administration

  • Executive (CEO, CNO or Director Level)

  • Leader/Manager

Research and Quality Improvement and Health Care Policy

  • Nursing Research

  • Quality Improvement

  • Health Care Policy

Nursing Education

  • Academia

  • Nursing Professional Development

Excellence in Nursing Eminence

After a one-year pause, the Nightingale Awards have returned!  The revised recognition program will present the coveted Nightingale awards in sixteen categories:





MEGAN RENTEL - Clinical Advocacy 

KATRINA EINHELLIG - Non-Traditional Advocacy

LINDSAY KIDD - Clinical Innovation

DENISE RUSH - Clinical Leadership

JENNIFER THISTLE - Non-Traditional Leadership

Congratulations to the 2022 NE Regional Luminary Nominees

Alyssa Medeiros

Christina Kuehster

Denise Rush

Hali Aiona

Jennifer Thistle

Katrina Einhellig

Kristin Bisceglia-Smith

Lindsay Kidd

Megan Rentel

Rhonda Turner

Nightingale Selection Committee 

Katrina Einhellig, Aims Community College
Jennifer Thistle, Morgan Community College
Jill Zamzow, UCHealth
Maribeth Olson, Melissa Memorial Hospital
Jennifer Sears, Retired
Julia Reinink, Banner Health
Marla Trujillo, Fairacres Manor
Cathy Franecki, Columbine Health Systems
Jamie Arfsten, Washington County Nursing Home


bottom of page